Things I actually did 2013.

I went back and looked at my “things I may do” post from just about one year ago.

What did I do? Besides teaching. (Which I did a lot).

Well, I got more involved in Fixing Science. In February I went to Brussels for the “beyond questionable practices” symposium. Got to hang out with Daniel Lakens, and said hi to Brian Nosek, and had generally a good time.

Then in June I went to Nijmegen for their Robust Sciences symposium. Spent even more time with Daniel this time, and got to meet Rolf Zwaan. (Plus lots of others).

As a result, I’m adjusting how I’m teaching my masters students so they will start out beyond Questionable Practices. We used the Open Science Framework. Ran into some snags, but I will definitely continue that.

I became part of the Open Science Bloggers. So far I have only contributed one post but I have done a few things like peer reviewing and definitely promoting as best I can.

I was asked to be on a special editorial team for Perspectives of Psychological Science, which made me go both Wayne and Garth and Lawrence of Arabia*. I will say no more, as it is on-going.

I blogged a lot in the spring, and not so much during fall.

This has also been the year of twitter for me. I’m having a lot of good conversations and good contacts through it. I am fond of on-line sociality. I have lots of “invisible friends” since close to a decade and a half. Funny thing, I’m chatting more with academics in other countries than with my own colleagues. We are too busy in our offices. (And, I adore my colleagues).

It is all very inspiring.

Research wise? My film group collaboration resulted in an invitation to a weekend symposium on film and quantitative measures. It was held at the Humanities Lab, which is a much nicer lab than we have anywhere in Psychology. They have an eye-tracking room! 20 eye trackers with computer screens. Among all sorts of other nifty things. So, the Film people invited a whole bunch of their colleagues that would be interested, including Anabel Cohen from Canada (who trained under Hebb I found out) who does movies and music, and I got invited into it on the basis of having used both movies and music to induce emotions.

I was mildly non-plussed first, because that was just our manipulation. Then I realized that this is actually very interesting. So, I presented what we did when I was a grad student, and put together a whole bunch of info on movies as emotion inducers. It is going to turn into a paper, as all the presenters at that symposium are going to contribute to a special issue of Music and the Moving Image. I did my updated version right before going on vacation.

I’ve also, from this, become part of a group of Danish and Swedish researchers interested in using quantitative methods for film research. It is very exciting, and I hope I have more time this spring thinking about it, and doing something about it.

The Kuleshov paper we are working on in the film group is still under construction. They eye-tracking data are… well… didn’t turn out as simple as we had predicted, and a bit more will be explored. But, there were some effects. Alas, our application did not get funded this time either. We will try one more time.

The Film Connection also resulted in me being on a “betygskommitte” (grading committee) for a PhD for the first time. A really wonderful dissertation by Roger Johansson, who has looked at minds eye and eye-movements. It took place as part of the 25 year celebration for the department of Cognitive Science. This department, at Lund, is not connected to psychology, for some mysterious reason having to do with a past I’m only vaguely aware of. Great speakers, both from inside and outside – like Frans de Waal, and Nicholas Humphreys (though he is not entirely up on the wobbliness of social priming, I think).

I got a paper published, with my former PhD student and the other advisor. From his dissertation work. This is a paper that have languished at various journals for up to a year, so we are pleased that it is coming out. One of the last things I did before going on break is proof-reading the manuscript. (All the eta squared had been printed as h squared.)

We submitted another, from that same dissertation. We will see where that goes.

Slowly, my publications are increasing.

The fall nearly did me in. I taught Theory of Science for the second time in this format. I love it, but as it was just the second time, it still required quite a bit of prep work. I also started up our new Evolutionary Psychology theme course. I didn’t want to delay it (it is given once a year only), but this meant I had a completely new course on top of my just once before course. Then I agreed to be a co-teacher for a doctoral course on computational methods. I had to agree, first, because I instigated it (although did not do the planning), and second, I was the only female. Cannot back out of that.

All I did was prepare courses, until I started having stress symptoms with tingling tongue and rapid heart beats, and towards the end feeling a failure of emotion regulation imminent. My clinical, and my stress researching friends told me to take it easy, and I believe them.

This Christmas I have not looked at my work e-mail. I have read research, but the stuff I want to read, in the pace I want to do it, which is nice. The students are wonderful, but sometimes the demands are just too much.

I did get some of the students to do a preliminary snake study, but I don’t quite know where that will go.

Another group did an eye color study that I was interested in. Results were – weird – but interesting. I still have to consider where to go with this (we are collaborating with the original authors here).

The wobbly data is still wobbly. I presented it in Stockholm, but I think I will need to embed it into a more meta-analytic study about this, because it is wobbly. Also, not written up yet. Also, still on the figuring out meta-analysis stuff thing (which I have been reading about this vacation).

Still want to do Bayesian stats, but have not found the time.

Emotion group – working on, but this fall was a bust. It is still going, but overlaps quite a bit with the film group.

Well, I still feel OK. Got something accomplished. Most fun are the people I talk to on twitter, which makes me feel connected and interested, and motivated.

And, 2014? No idea. I hope to be able to manage the spring so I can do research. More blogging. More fixing science.

First up, though, almost, I get to meet another one of my new twitter buds, JP deRuiter. I invited him to give a talk, and he is coming in January. Turns out he is also friends with someone in the Humanities Lab. This will be fun. (Now, who to invite next….)

*

About asehelene

... because if I'm in a room with a second person, I want to be reasonably sure I'm the crazier one.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

