Printing the Legend – a follow up

I think I wrung my hands about this before (on either one of my twin blogs), but it is about the use of the canoncial stories in psychology that turn out to be… not quite right.  Although research evidently done inspired by these cases kind of vindicates it.  Though, does it, when the reality was that much messier?

It is the Kitty Genovese and Phineas Gage stories, again, which are retold over and over, in roughly the same way (despite stories tendencies to change in the telephone game way, I figure they end up stabilizing in some canonical format – of course, I have not researched that, but I think it could).  This is from the APA, with nice links to the questioning literature.

I

About asehelene

... because if I'm in a room with a second person, I want to be reasonably sure I'm the crazier one.
This entry was posted in Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

